top of page


Officially, this is the league's first all-star game. This was meant to showcase the PBA's newest breed of talent. At this moment, the league has six PBA teams but unlike in the early 80s when the rookies took a backseat to the pioneers, big-time PABL finds like Alvin Patrimonio, Jojo Lastimosa, Jerry Codinera, and Ronnie Magsanoc from the 1988 class and Benjie Paras, Nelson Asaytono, Bong Alvarez, and Dindo Pumaren are slowly displacing them.

The Veterans, to note, aren't as old as one would think as apart from Ramon Fernandez, Robert Jaworski, Arnie Tuadles, Manny Victorino, Yoyoy Villamin, and Philip Cezar, the rest of the squad started their careers five seasons ago, and less. At this point, longstanding pioneers like Bogs Adornado, Francis Arnaiz, and Atoy Co have already retired while Freddie Hubalde and Bernie Fabiosa as well as top stars like Ricardo Brown, Willie Generalao, and Jimmy Manansala are on the verge of retirement.

Abet Guidaben is a noteworthy snub as he finished the 1989 PBA season with averages of 16.4ppg, 9.8rpg, 2.3apg, and 0.97bpg in 29 games. The same can be said with Abe King who had 12.8ppg, 8.1rpg, and 2.0apg in 38 appearances.

Anyway, Elmer Cabahug of the Rookies and Sophomores squad won the first official All-Star MVP award despite playing for the losing team.

The Veterans won, 132 to 130.

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page